Munich, Germany: “Prost!”

After our great couple of days in Salzburg, it was time to catch a train back to Munich and actually see the city.  My brother, Derek, was also flying in from the US that day to meet us.  It was really funny, we actually bumped into him on the streets in Munich because we all walked in the wrong direction to our hotel after getting off the metro.

Munich's Rathaus (city hall).

Munich’s Rathaus (city hall).

We didn’t really do or see too much in Munich since we didn’t give ourselves much time there, but we did as much as we could and got a pretty good feel for the city.  We walked around the old town area, saw the Rathaus (city hall), watched some surfing in the English Gardens (Yes, there is a place where you can surf!), and saw the anti-climatic Glockenspiel show on the front of the Rathaus.  It’s a big tourist attraction but it just reminded me of the show on the Astronomical Clock in Prague which is also very anti-climatic.

Watching some surfers in the English Gardens.

Watching some surfers in the English Gardens.

The Glockenspiel.

The Glockenspiel.

The two days we spent in Munich were FREEZING.  Maybe I’m just being a baby and have gotten too used to Madrid’s consistently 70-degree and sunny weather, but I don’t think that’s the reason because even the German’s thought it was cold!  At least they thought it was too cold to sit outside at the beer gardens.  We were disappointed because we were really looking forward to experiencing the beer gardens but each and every one of them were closed!  What sucked even more was that apparently Munich had beautiful weather just before we arrived and the beer gardens were open!  Just our luck.

Since all of the outdoor beer gardens were closed, we spent our time in the famous indoor brewery and restaurant: the Hofbräuhaus!  The Hofbräuhaus is one of Munich’s oldest breweries and it was my favorite part about Munich!  It was so fun and lively with the Oompah band playing music to get the crowd in the German spirit.  We got our liter beers that we of course had to cheers with in German by saying “Prost!” and we got the giant soft pretzels I’ve been waiting for!  When I was in Berlin and Hamburg over winter break, the only thing I wanted was one of these soft pretzels but I didn’t realize it was a Southern Germany thing.  Lucky for me, they were everywhere in Munich!

The Hofbräuhaus!

The Hofbräuhaus!

The Oompah Band!

The Oompah Band!

Got my giant soft pretzel and beer!

Got my giant soft pretzel and beer!

My brother and I enjoying our last night in Munich.

My brother and I enjoying our last night in Munich.

Overall, I did really enjoy Munich, especially the Hofbräuhaus.  However, I was bummed it was so cold and all of the beer gardens were closed.  I would love to go back in the summertime (maybe even during Oktoberfest) to see the city truly come alive.

3 thoughts on “Munich, Germany: “Prost!”

  1. Pingback: Semana Santa & My Family’s Visit | Sam Goes Abroad

  2. Pingback: Munich has Surfing, Beer & Pretzels | Fabulous 50's

  3. Pingback: On the Street in Munich | Fabulous 50's

Leave a Reply

