Visa? Check!

Two weeks ago I made the trip up to New York to apply for my visa.  My parents and I decided to make a little trip out of it so we stayed at the New Yorker Hotel on Sunday night.  We took the Bolt Bus from Philly Sunday morning around 10 and arrived in New York around 12.  Fortunately the hotel had a room ready for us so we got settled in and then my sister, who lives in northern New Jersey, drove into the city and was able to meet us.  We had a nice lunch at a diner and walked around the city.

The next day was the dreaded visa appointment!  My appointment was at 10:30, so we took the metro to Central Park and walked to the consulate from there.  I had all of my paperwork in my “Spain” folder and was all ready to go!  I had a crazy panic attack on the bus ride up thinking that I left my folder at home, but luckily I didn’t forget to pack the entire reason why we were going to New York in the first place!  The consulate was just how I remembered it.  It was an exciting feeling to be back there again because it made the fact that I’m going back to Spain that much more real.  I didn’t have to wait long until my name was called over to a window.  I spoke with a nice Spanish man who asked for my application first, then for the rest of my documents where he proceeded to do whatever he needed to do with them, including making copies of some.  He kept speaking to me in Spanish, and although I understood the majority of what he was saying, I just couldn’t formulate the words to reply, so I replied in English.  At one point he said, “why are you speaking English?  Aren’t you going to Spain?”  That was the rude awakening I needed.  At that moment, all I wanted to do was run home and crack open my old Spanish textbooks!  I realized that I need to start studying NOW.  But studying can only get you so far.  What I really need to do is practice, which it’s a good thing I’m going to Spain then, right?

I was at the window for what felt like no more than 10 minutes–everything went so smoothly!  The guy handed me back my original documents and said that I would receive my visa in the mail within 2-3 weeks, which is far less time than what I was told before (they say it can take up to 8 weeks).  But it just so happens that I didn’t have to wait 2-3 weeks because my visa arrived in the mail exactly a week after my appointment! They were ridiculously fast!

I was so excited when I got my passport with my visa in it!  It’s even more exciting that it’s my second visa because, once again, I’M GOING BACK TO SPAIN!!!  It’s a completely different excitement than before.  Since it was my first time before, I had no idea what to expect or if I would even like Spain (but, let’s be real, of course I would like Spain!)  But now that I know what it’s like, I’m that much more excited to return!  These 2 visas in my passport represent the amazing adventures that I had, and the new exciting ones that are still to come 🙂  Now that I have my visa and plane ticket taken care of, all I have to worry about is packing!  Ahhh!

Leave a Reply

